I’m back in business…

I have returned, wiser, with somewhat grayer hair and plenty of stories from the front lines of the accounting world to regale my readers.  Any of you who are currently at a Big 4 firm are probably in the midst of your own personal Dante’s Inferno, a.k.a. busy season.  To those of you who are still enduring, I salute you.  To those who have moved on to bigger and better things by leaving, I say congratulations!  While I plan on discussing, as always, the pros and cons (unfortunately, the cons seem to always beat out the pros!) of the Big 4 world, I will also be talking about the exit opportunities that I have seen presented to my coworkers over the last few years. 

12 Responses to I’m back in business…

  1. Krupo says:

    Ah, nice to see you back. Glad you survived. 🙂

  2. Papes says:

    Finally! I was getting bored reading your old posts over and over

  3. Christopher Silvey says:

    Well…at least you are still alive.

  4. Neil says:

    Welcome back AA 🙂

  5. steve says:

    I have a question – I with be working my first co-op term with a big four in toronto this summer. Does the time pass quickly or do the days just lag? Also, is it common for big four employees to work Saturdays? How bad is it? Is it worth it? I have been reading a whole bunch about how much people hate it – I’m getting a bit worried. What mindset should I go in with. How should I conduct myself? What hours should I work if I have any control over the issue?

    thanks

  6. Krupo says:

    Time’ll pass quickly if they give you something to do or if you know ways to keep yourself busy. Basically, “it depends”.

    They try and make it fun for summer interns/co-ops, though, and summertime is when Saturday work is relatively rare, so you should feel relatively ‘safe’ on that front.

  7. Jamie says:

    For what it’s worth, your experience seems to be quite similar to the UK. I don’t have an accounting background, but I run a site that indexes reviews of graduate jobs (including all the big accounting firms) and most of the concerns you raise seem to come up in the reviews I see.

    Would be interesting to see if the experience is consistent with other nations as well? or is it just a UK / North American thing?

  8. Bookkeeping and accounting outsourcing company in India US UK Australia Canada also deals in finance accounting outsourcing,tax preparation,taxation,tax planning and web development and Search engine optimization.

  9. Please keep posting new items to your blog, you have plenty of interested followers, like me!

  10. Pingback: I?m back in business? | wilsonsias

  11. Great to see you back in business. You have the ability to all your fellow accountants motivated on these cold Monday mornings.

  12. We’re all waiting on your next update ….. I hope you re-return soon to keep us all informed and entertained.

Leave a Reply

