Where’s My Blackberry???

For some reason, auditors do not get Blackberrys, unless of course you are a partner. Now, this NEVER made any sense to me. It’s not that I want one just as a status symbol, to be perceived as being important enough to have one (damn you finance people). I feel we need them for practical reasons. Here are a few:

-Auditors, especially those below the rank of Manager, are RARELY at the office where we have high speed access to our email accounts.
-Many of our clients’ IT people are loathe to set up a high speed connection for us, meaning we have to dial in, which is a painfully slow process (imagine 20 minutes of downloading email and splitting a 56K dial up connection with 5 other people)
-We invariably are getting email all day, and the fact that I have no access to it is clearly not a good enough excuse (how else am I supposed to get those firm emails and respond to happy hour invites)
-It’ll make us look cool relative to people in finance
-I can look busy even when I’m just emailing my friends

So, auditors out there, let’s try and convince the firms to get us some BBs. If only for our egos!

Leave a Reply

